Benalla Golf wrap | Feb 19 to 22

By Benalla Ensign

Men's Golf results

Last Saturday, February 22, 56 players competed in a Stableford event.

The course played a little “harder” than normal as the best score of the day was only 37 points recorded by the A-grade winner James Dalton.

The A-grade runner up was Allen Bastin with 35 points on a countback. In B-grade three players had the best score of 33 points with Ben Van Den Akker being declared the winner with Garry Woodman the runner-up, both on countbacks. The C-grade winner was Brian Convery with 36 points and the runner up Trevor Banfield with 33 points on a countback.

Nearest the pins:

First, Olivers Mensland: Nil

Third, Crothers’Joinery: Glen Smith

Eight, Srixon/Golf Shop: Colin McFarlane

12th Ray White: Colin McFarlane

13th Spalding/Golf Shop: Alan Moore

KFC Birdies: Blake Spinks, Peter Bridgfoot, Darryl Quin

Ball Competition: 35 Tim Symes, 33 Peter Houghton, Alan Moore, Ken Muir, Adrian Papworth, Rod Smith, 32 Dave Dunster, Peter Rigby, 31 Peter Chaszcziwsky, Blake Spinks, 30 Chris Keast on a countback.

Daniel Symes won the “Bear Trap” award for the sixth and seventh holes.

Wednesday February 19

Last Wednesday, February 19, 67 players competed in a Stableford event.

The best score of the day, 43 points, was recorded by James Waters to win C-grade from runner up Graham Ellis, 39 points.

The A-grade winner was Mick Liddington with 40 points from the runner up Ian Wise with 38 points on a countback.

The B-grade winner was Cameron McMahen with 40 points from runner up Brian Firth with 38 points.

Nearest the Pins:

Third, Golf Shop: David Ross

Eighth, Golf Shop: Nil

12th Ray White: Cameron McMahen with an “eagle”

13th Fruits ‘n’ Fare: Curl Symes

Ball Competition: 39 Ian Simmons, 38 Brian Hubble, 37 Michael O’Brien, Bill Peyton, Steve Thomas, 36 Allen Bastin, Gary O’Brien, Peter Purcell, 35 Peter Bridgfoot, 34 Wayne Hocking, Tony Reaper, Glen Smith, John Spencer all on countbacks.

Brian Firth also won the “Bear Trap” award for the sixth and seventh holes.

Wednesday, February 26 will be a Stableford event. Saturday, February 29 will be is a stroke event.

Women's Golf results

A stableford round was played on Thursday, February 20 with 26 players.

Division 1 winner was Anne Thomson with 36 points, and Division 2 was won by Trish Miskin with 33 points on a countback..

Ball competition: M. Watson 35, B. Dobson 34,, S. Sykes 33, C. Day 33, K. Bailey 31c/b, V. Wood 31c/b.

Nearest the pins: third H. Briggs, Milner-Watson Pharmacy eighth A. Thomson, Ray White 12th H. Crilly, Golf Shop 13th M. Watson, 14th J. Rubira.

On Saturday, February 22, 21 players enjoyed a stableford round.

Division one winner was Bernadette Lang with 32 points, and division two winner was Roma Watkins with 29 points c/b.

Ball competition: M. Cowan 31, H. Briggs 30, L. Symes 29, J. McKean 29, J. Rubira 28.

Nearest the pins: third L. Symes, eighth B. Lang, 12th Jo Martin, 14th H. Briggs.

This week a stableford round will be played on both Thursday and Saturday.