17 countries affected by toxic egg scandal

August 11, 2017

Millions of eggs have been pulled from European supermarket shelves after the use of insecticide.

Fifteen countries have been affected by the widening scandal involving eggs contaminated with the insecticide fipronil, the European Commission says.

Contaminated eggs have been distributed to Sweden, France, Britain, Austria, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Poland, Romania, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Denmark.

Two non-EU countries, Switzerland and Hong Kong, have also received eggs originating from affected poultry farms in Belgium, the Netherlands, Germany and France that have been treated with fipronil.

The commission also announced that it was planning to convene an EU ministerial meeting on September 26 to "draw relevant lessons" from the scandal.

Login Sign Up

Dummy text